Transition

You Otto Learn To Let Things Go

God, I haven’t been here in so long. Not really sure where to start. Let’s start with buried emotions. Not that I even knew they were six feet under. I hadn’t missed them.

And then, out of the blue, I watched a movie. The one in the trailer above. It looks like a wholesome family drama. It’s way more than that. It’s dark, funny, sad and beautiful.

And God but I cried. And cried. And cried. Just watching it. Sobbing at points. And a huge weight that I didn’t know I carried, suddenly just lifted.

The release of that emotion has left me better off than yesterday. I wasn’t aware of it in the morning. But then it just poured out of me. And life felt immeasurably better. Because I felt it.

I didn’t think I was uptight about anything. No hidden trauma I was aware of . But as opaline tears travelled down my face, I realised that I bottle things up for just such occasions. Transformative to know.

In so far as that’s my New Year’s Resolution. The cynical could argue that it’s just a schmaltzy Hollywood movie, I’m going to say it’s just a reminder that being closed off isn’t the way to go.

Happy New year to you and your family. Make it count.

Standard

2 thoughts on “You Otto Learn To Let Things Go

Leave a comment