Transition

My Way Or The Highway

This weekend sees me working at a Transition Support Course. Support being the operative word. Because any way you choose to transition is probably going to be the right one for you. There is still, unfortunately, no manual available. And no “correct” way to do it anyway.

At this point we are only halfway through the course but it’s been worthwhile to me already. It’s a fascinatingly diverse group. A huge range of different identities. Male to female, female to male, non-binary and otherwise just questioning of supposed gender norms.

And an age range that is equally diverse but all of whom are travelling their own journeys with gender. One of the things that was often offered to me as I first transitioned was that it was it was a brave thing to do. I never ever saw that. Until today. When I saw the bravery in other people’s stories, I can now allow that maybe I had some of that.

Shared experience is a beautiful thing though. Nobody attending the course has all of the answers and pretty much every last one of us has had similar questions. But there is plenty we can learn from each other. And sometimes it’s just good to recognise you are not alone in a situation. And to be able to learn from your peers is one of the most useful things I’ve ever had. So although nobody really has all the answers, collectively we all know enough to help each other get there. And that feels more than good enough to me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

