Regret Me Nots

Still in a ridiculously good place.  There is little wrong with my life and I’m determined to stay there. I even have a plan to ensure that happens. 

Which is mostly just letting go of stuff I have no power to change and letting life just sort of happen.  It’s working out nicely enough so far. And it’s agreeing with me. I’m as happy as I’ve ever been.

Of course it’s not all a bed of roses. Letting go is sometimes harder than it should be. Every injustice or slight can’t be easily forgiven.  But you can get past most things if you are of a mind to. 

I’m still smarting from the loss of my brothers though.  Sometimes daily . Sometimes not. And most of it come back to my youngest brother’s assertion that I will regret transition.  It’s an unresolved conversation that’s burrowed in deep.

If I could, I would counter that I regret fuck all in my life. Every decision and every mistake led me somewhere. Not always to my credit but rarely to my total detriment.

I’d rather regret what I had done that what I hadn’t in any case. I’d hate to hit 80 and wish that I had had the courage to transition.  That would be a waste of the life I’ve been given. But then,  that’s not going to happen.  I’m doing it. Consequences be damned.  And I’m really pretty much sorted in my daily life. If you are half as happy, you are sorted too. Go us!

Standard

One thought on “Regret Me Nots

  1. Good song 😁. Totally go you Chrissy! I really believe it’s the things we didn’t do that we regret, I’ve got a number of them that pop in my mind regardless of how many years pass- like when I was in my early 20’s I was on a camping trip with my boyfriend, he was a chef and cooking amazing meals each night on the camp stove, anyway one campground there was this old guy set up across the field from us, he had more of a tarp than a tent and a really unwashed smell hung round it, anyway this night he started cooking and the smell was so vile whatever he was cooking must have been off and I wanted to take him a bowl of our dinner but I didn’t. That regret has never left me and it’s 20 years old. There’s been so many foolish or bad decisions I HAVE made but they don’t haunt me like this 😐. So I am 100% behind you, go Chrissy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

