Because I was a guy, I feel I owe this post to guys everywhere. I may have mentioned it before.  I’m not really sure and I’m way too lazy to check back through two years of blogging.   But it’s hopefully worth clarifying. 

Part of my transition has been learning that men and women experience the world in entirely different ways. Fascinatingly so. And Oestrogen was the door to finding this out for myself.  

One of the most obvious differences is the simple text message.  My experience of this was somewhat shocking to me. And I’m sorry ladies, if you think I’m selling us out. I’m not at all.

When a guy sends a text message,  it says what it says. That’s it. There is no subterfuge or clever hidden message. Just the facts Ma’am.

So it came as a total surprise when for the first time my hormone addled head found the subtext in a text message. To be sitting there wondering how they meant that was an entirely new experience to me. A slightly distressing one if I’m honest. 

To apply emotions and intent to a three line message is barking mad in terms of most of my life experiences. But that’s now a regular thing.  I’m partly able to temper it by reading things five times and applying a little logic. But it’s a totally real thing. We just read things differently. As utterly mental as that is.

So when you send a text and get a crazy,  irrational response guys? Have a quiet word with yourselves about how you could have been so fucking irresponsible with words in the first place. It’s only fair. 

3 thoughts on “Exactly What Did You Mean By That?

  1. “when you send a text and get a crazy, irrational response guys? Have a quiet word with yourselves about how you could have been so fucking irresponsible with words in the first place.”

    i cant tell if this is british-style humour or not. (im a huge fan of python, fawlty towers, little britain, french and saunders, it crowd, black books– i can even sit through league of gentlemen and peep show.) we say what we mean, and now that you read it differently, its our fault? ❤ its funny either way, but i would (actually) feel bad if its funny and youre serious. i really like you, and i would hate to be condescending. youre doing a wonderful thing for humanity, in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

