​​​​

Today’s post was always intended to be about public scrutiny. My week started with a few more instances of it than I generally have to deal with. But a simple enough twist of fate has balanced it all out.

As it happened, this was also a week where I attended my trade union’s (Unison) LGBT Conference for the first time. It has completely negated what I intended to blog about. Because for once I was very much part of the majority and scrutiny was the last thing I needed to be concerned about.

It’s been an amazingly empowering thing to see the strength our LGBT community has in numbers and this is but one trade union. We do have other voices too. And I am but one.

I’m coming home invigorated and determined to increase my involvement around LGBT issues. Trans issues resonate particularly for me. Of course they do. But equality for every last one of us is equally important. Just seems like it’s time to really join the conversation. And then allow people to scrutinise that, if they wish.

Leave a Reply

