A Longer Journey

​​​

Back in Glasgow. And very much in love with my life, despite a slight case of the holiday blues. Tomorrow I have one of the most important appointments I’ll ever have. An early morning visit to the gender clinic to convince the gatekeepers that I’m suitable to see the surgeon now.

I’m not at all apprehensive. I’m well established in my gender, involved in my community locally and soon to be nationally. I’ve travelled internationally as a woman so I should have ticked the appropriate boxes already. And I’m ready to take the next step now.

Rest assured, I am both terrified and exhilarated at the prospect of surgery. To have no doubts seems nonsensical to me. There is always a What If you may not have considered. And by then it’s too late.

But ready I am. Or as ready as I’ll ever be. Just one final hurdle to negotiate. And consequently I’m as happy as I’ve ever been.Keeping my fingers crossed that Monday goes the way I want but still prepared to wait a little longer if needs be. Rome wasn’t built in a day etc.

Standard

Leave a Reply

