Transition

Home From Home

I wasn’t supposed to be blogging today but I’m too happy not to. Still on holiday but increasingly finding my current whereabouts growing a firm place in my heart. It’s my third visit to Chania, in Crete. I already know it’s going to be a lifelong love affair. I almost love Chania as much as my home city.

That’s not something I say lightly at all. Glasgow is in my bones. I love every part of it, good and bad. But Chania is as close as I have been to feeling at home while abroad. I could live here in a heartbeat. And not in a wistful holiday romance sense. Although I have definitely fallen in love. 

Chania, I think maybe just Crete too, is a very easy place to be transsexual. It matters not. Acceptance is a given and that has constantly surprised me on each of my visits. The people here are simply superb.

It is one of the most welcoming places I have ever encountered. The people are warm, accepting and overwhelmingly kind. It’s hard not to fall in love with them. And too late for me not to be smitten. 

If I could work out the practicalities, I would live here quite happily. And again, not just holiday talk. Chania is a place that has gotten under my skin. And made me feel that I belong somewhere. It’s the nicest thing in the world to feel simply at home. 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Home From Home

  1. It’s fantastic to be somewhere I can wander alone and still know I am safe. My Trans status sadly has to factored into travel plans now. But here it is irrelevant. What’s not to love? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

