Transition

Joining The Dots

I’ve mostly been a very mainstream sort of Transsexual. I didn’t want to be part of a dedicated scene and I kept the LGBT side of things at arm’s length. I wanted my transition to be mostly similar to my old life. I’m finding increasingly that this will not be possible.And that I’ve wandered out of my comfort zone. However accidentally.

I’m starting to realise that because I am Transsexual, I do need some connection to a wider community of people who understand what that means. It’s not a Eureka moment or anything though. I’ve been involved with a local Trans support group for a while. I just never intended to find myself helping to deliver it. But it brings me more than it has ever cost me. There is so much to be learned from shared experience. And it’s been great to watch others grow into their own transition too. It’s generally the most supportive environment I encounter. I hope I provide some of that back.

I’m growing more confident because I feel connected and I just want more of that now. I want to be more involved in my community. Specifically the Trans community for me but equality should be for everyone. So what do I do about it?

Just being active seems a good place to start. I’m already a Trade Union Representative. That offers opportunities I hadn’t previously considered. I am able to get involved. I’m hoping to take the Trans seat on my Union’s Scottish LGBT Committee and I’m going to my first National LGBT conference for them in November. Although whoever booked Llandudno in winter clearly wants shot.

But I am definitely starting to feel like that’s where I want to be. I used to be terrified of change. Now, not so much. One door closes etc. And life trundles on. I just don’t want to be sleepwalking through it when I could be doing something.

Standard

Leave a Reply

