Transition

Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus, Transsexuals Are From……

Truth be told, I have no idea where we come from. But it’s not bloody Transylvania, I know this much. But somewhere around 1% of the world’s population identifies as Transgender or Gender Nonconforming. So although I did experience an initial case of the “Why Me’s?”, that makes me exceptionally lucky to find myself in such a small and select group. 99% luckier than most of you in fact.

Of course, it could be the other way around. That’s a matter of perspective really. I’m comfortable with that sort of confusion. But equally comfortable that lucky is the best way to view my own situation. How else could I describe it?

Being Transgender has given me more than I bargained for already. It’s given me confidence, acceptance of myself and peace where anxiety used to comfortably reside.

It’s shown me that people are as brilliant as they are awful and it’s allowed me to get to a place where I fear nothing and no-one. Spiders being a notable exception. Everything else I can cope with.

I do still have all the same questions about being Trans as everyone else though. Some have just answered themselves for me. More than enough remain to be discovered each day. The How or Why I am Transgender has grown less important over time though. I just am. And that’s ok with me. Mostly it seems ok for other people too, which is amazing. We’ve come a long way.

It’s an inordinately sunny day in Glasgow. In fact, an inordinately sunny week. Hotter than Mexico allegedly. So there might be a direct correlation between this happy little post and unexpected sunshine. Long may it continue. I’m off to enjoy it. As far as working allows đŸ˜‰

Standard

Leave a Reply

