Transition

It All Works Out In The End

An apprehensive week, wondering if my contacting my brother would lead to anything. It hasn’t. So far. But it’s only been three days. I am probably a little impatient. Took me two years to find the guts. Should probably allow the same consideration in his case.

In the meantime, nothing was lost by the attempt. An opening salvo has been sent and I’ll just need to sit tight and see what response, if any, I get. I am still optimistic.

I’ve had the best of weekends to take my mind off things though. Started off with babysitting. Children are fairly uncomplicated and take you as you are. And they put things in perspective. It’s difficult to still feel lost when a tiny person is cuddling you or you are learning things about all sorts from an excited child.

Followed up with dinner and a movie night with my favourite favourite. Managed to forget that I had originally pencilled in feeling sorry for myself. And so now I don’t. What on earth do I have to be sorry about?

Regardless of what happens with my brothers, I very much have my own family. And plenty to be happy about. And that’s not a bad place to be.

“It’s not just what you’re born with
It’s what you choose to bear
It’s not how big your share is
But how much you can share
And it’s not the fights you dreamed of
But those you really fought
It’s not what you’ve been given
It’s what you do with what you’ve got”
(Dick Gaughan)

Standard

Leave a Reply

