Hold Me Closer Tony Danza

I’ve been meaning to use this song for my blog for some time. Not just because I love it. It’s inextricably linked to times with friends. Always good times.

And it’s part of one of my favourite movies, Almost Famous. The scene it’s used in illustrates friendship and that sense of family perfectly. If you’ve never seen it, you should really rectify that. An immense movie.

But with the end of the year almost upon us and extended weekends heading our way, the thing I’m most looking forward to is just seeing people. From spending two drinks to two days together, I’m determined to catch up with as many people as possible.

Because it’s all too easy to let it slip. And no pun intended, Christmastime really is a gift horse. I might even hug you unexpectedly. I’m much more comfortable with that nowadays. Consider notice duly given.

On a separate note and because this is a transition blog. Spotted Caitlyn Jenner has gotten into trouble for basically saying that obvious men in dresses make people uncomfortable. Although I think she is an abominable thundercunt I’d have to say this is mostly true unfortunately. She just has a way with words that makes most of what she says sound privileged and unpalatable. But society largely likes it’s men in dresses as devastating drag queens or faux femme fatales. It’s easier to accept than a 6ft trucker in a too short dress. That’ll change over time I believe. So I’m not defending her but she did have a poorly illustrated point.

And although he’s not talking to me, I can’t not mention it’s my middle brother’s birthday today. Hope he’s being spoiled. I’m going to buy him a cake. Then comfort eat it.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Hold Me Closer Tony Danza

  1. Season’s Greetings to you too. Was kind of horrified by the vitriol directed at Jenner for saying something that’s actually accurate. It’s sad and unfair but the way the world is. I presume I pass now though. Most people don’t stare and little old ladies talk to me. As for families? Can’t live with ’em, can’t stick an axe in their head 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As sad as it is, it’s kinda true right now. I socially transitioned early on hormones, and the way people would treat me was brutal.
    Now, at a year on hormones I completely pass, and even when I come out, people don’t seem to care.
    Here’s hoping things will change to be more accepting.

    Sorry family stuff is rough, but yay for cake!
    Enjoy yourself and have a good holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. At least making an effort to blend seems like the minimum you would attempt but not everyone seems to grasp that. Neither of my brothers are currently talking to me. But that’s OK. Time will sort it out and they are both decent men. It’s just a difficult situation which I handled poorly at the start. Not worth being angry about at all though. We’ll talk again I’m sure. Have a lovely Christmas x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Unfortunately that’s true, which I hate to admit. I’d rather see a gorgeous made-up drag queen than a trucker with hairy legs in a dress. It’s sad for me to admit, but I would think there was something not quite right with the man with the hairy legs and “Why is he wearing a dress?” I knew a man, had to have been 6 feet 5 inches tall, who chose to wear female business attire to work (this was back in the late 1980s). He walked by me one time, I asked another person if he was a man, they said yes, and that was the end of it. Everyone just accepted him the way he was. But he shaved his legs and always looked nice, so it wasn’t a big deal. And I’m assuming your brother isn’t talking to you because of your choice? That alone is tragic. Maybe it’s a guy thing, but it makes me sad that people get rejected by their family like that. Maybe the world needs to have a more “whatever makes you happy” approach to life rather than being so stringent in their high and mighty values. Very sad. The most important thing is you’re happy with yourself and you feel happy, small boobs aside. 😀 (sorry, didn’t mean to babble, but I’m good like that)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

