Transition

The Look Of Love

Don’t panic at the music choice. I am not depressed. I have always adored this song and I needed something perversely incongruous with the point of this post. This fitted perfectly and although it’s not about being transgender, it perfectly encapsulates the fear of rejection that seems so real when you are taking this path.

The good news is this is a happy post. Thanks to a very good friend I became aware of a BBC documentary called Young, Trans And Looking For Love. It is one of the most inspiring things I have ever seen.

The courage of the young Transmen and Transwomen in this film really affected me. Willing to live their lives openly at such a young age and brave enough to share their journey with the world. They are part of a growing movement and their bravery assures me things will get better.

If you are interested, please watch this film. I believe it’s currently on BBC iPlayer till end of the month. It’s beyond beautiful and foreshadows a better world for all transgender people. That they took the time to make it reassures me. Maybe some people will gain a little understanding. And that’s a step in the right direction.

Standard

Leave a Reply

