Cloud Nine

It doesn’t really take that much to buoy my mood. Last week was a perfect example. Sometimes you are just unprepared for life to throw you a bone. And then it throws you a curve ball.

I am well used to public scrutiny and even vocal comment on my transition. Friday saw a different take on both for me.

Shortly after getting off a bus I was aware I was being followed. If it wasn’t during the day I perhaps might have been scared. But I’m from Glasgow, that doesn’t happen too often.

I took a usual shortcut down a lane to where I was visiting. It became clear I was still being followed. I bunched my right hand into the tightest fist I could manage and got ready to deliver one good punch and take off running.

And then I heard “Excuse Me”. I turned round and there was indeed a man behind me. But he simply handed me a scrap of paper and mumbled “phone me” or words to that effect. That is something I wasn’t prepared for.

Having been on the other side of this equation, I know it takes a bit of courage for a guy to just put himself out there like that. But I never imagined I would be on the receiving end. Particularly so randomly and unexpectedly.

Nothing may come of this. Our actual conversation is a whole other post to it’s self. But in terms of a confidence boost, my rocket has reached the moon. For a guy to take the chance to give me his number in broad daylight is a new thing for me. And even if comes to nothing, it still took a few hours to touch back down to earth. Because life is still throwing unexpected bonuses at me. And I don’t know that I’m ready for them always. But sometimes it’s just quite good. Who doesn’t like hearing that someone likes them?

Standard

Leave a Reply

