Transition

Cape Fear

One of the most satisfying aspects of my transition has been the relative absence of fear. As time has gone on, nothing scares me. Not public reaction, not Transphobia and not even the risk of Trans related violence figures in my daily life. It could be I am being naive or it could be I am spectacularly adept at avoiding idiots. Or it could be something else entirely. But fear is not something to let control your life. Ever. I don’t keep a count of unpleasant encounters at all. It’s genuinely so rare that it hardly matters. To borrow from the Building Trade, it’s “570 days at this site without a reportable incident”.  And that’s pretty impressive from my perspective. I’ve read plenty of evidence that this is contrary to the norm for those transitioning.  But I’m glad that this is not my experience. I might only ever potentially be one corner or one bus journey away from something bad happening. But that’s not a good enough reason to let it cripple you. In any given week I will encounter at least one person who feels compelled to attempt to belittle me. I find total indifference works best. I will walk away but not through being scared. Would be assailants should be aware though, I might run like a girl but I punch like a boy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

