Transition

Hungry Like The Wolf(man)

Wandered around the corner for a roll and sausage and managed to befuddle not one but two of our local Eastern European scamps. Interestingly they both had the same question, “Are you a gayboy?”. To be fair, that may be at the limit of their English. And perhaps understanding. This was within about 90 seconds of each other but neither was an unpleasant exchange, despite the question at face value. The first one is always pleased to see me, generally full of smiles and I think just inquisitive. Who knows just how often you happen across transsexuals in Romania? In my area we’re ten a penny though, there are at least 7 others I am aware of. The second was a little older, late teens maybe. I had just benefitted from his best version of Joey’s “How you doin’?” and his was a far more confused question than the first. I don’t think he even knew what to do or say next. My answer of “something like that” probably didn’t help him much. But both comments helped me. I used to be terrified of this sort of public exchange and had little in the way of practiced answers. But 18 months on, I’m plenty confident, took it in my stride and whose day isn’t improved by a little “How you doin’?”.

Standard

Leave a Reply

